top of page

Seventy Threes All Around

Getting Your License


I want to encourage you in your quest in getting your Amateur Radio Operator's License.

I got my first level license (Technician) in June 2010 and my General License in June 2011. I had no idea of the challenges and capabilities available in amateur radio until I became licensed. I looked into amateur radio about 20 years ago, but the Morse code requirement was more than I wanted to tackle at the time. The Morse Code requirement was dropped in 2007.

In May 2010 I really got serious and began to study for the test. I have provided links that will help you study for the tests. There are a pool of questions that are used on the test. The questions and answers are published. I took about 35 practice tests on www.qrz.com that helped develop my confidence to sit for the test.

My main interest in the hobby is emergency communication, but there is so much more.

I would be happy to help you anyway I can or put you in touch with guys a lot smarter than me.

Here are some links that I have found useful:

http://www.qrz.com/hamtest/ This is the practice tests I used. You can set the test to show you the correct answer if you get wrong on the first try.


Featured Posts
Archive
bottom of page